Recovering Deleted Files

Rapid Recovery™ instantly recovers your file even when you have deleted it and emptied the Recycle Bin

There is hardly anyone in the world who has not deleted a file by mistake and gone through that “Oh My God!” moment later when the realisation hits that – umm – that data was really needed.

People are creating and storing huge amounts of data these days. The capacities of storage devices are getting bigger and bigger. Let us face it, there may be some time when you delete a file by mistake or otherwise think that you are done with it, only to realise later that you want it desperately.

You may delete a family picture, a file from your hard disk, a chunk of data from the CD-RW and – horrors of horrors – empty your Recycle Bin. The file is obviously nowhere to be found on the computer. It has totally disappeared into the haze of cyberspace and you just cannot get it back.

Or can you?

The answer is a resounding “Yes you can!” Not many computer users know it, but when you delete a file from the hard disk, and even empty the Recycle Bin, the data is not immediately destroyed by Windows . What actually happens is that the operating system notices where the file marked for deletion resides on the hard disk and labels that space as “available” for copying any other data in future.

The name of the marked-for-deletion file is removed from the directory (file table) so that it no longer shows the data. That is all that happens – the file merely gets hidden from the view. But just because you cannot see the name of the “deleted” file in the file directory, it does not mean it has ceased to exist.

The file is still very much there on your computer, totally intact and unharmed. It can only be destroyed, not by giving the delete command, but when the operating system overwrites it with another file which it intends to save (as it has already marked the spot as vacant). When this overwriting is done, the file is lost permanently. The trick is to recover the desired file before giving Windows a chance to overwrite.

What should you do when you want to recover the file you “deleted”? For starters, do not delay. Try to extract it as soon as possible. Do not defrag the hard drive. Do not switch off your computer or restart it. Do not browse the Net. Do not create, modify or save any file. In fact, totally abandon the computer. Any activity you do may cause Windows to rewrite the file.

Rapid Recovery™ DIY data-recovery software has powerful “undelete” algorithms that were developed specifically for this kind of work. It can easily recover all your files – pictures, graphics, text files, video and audio files, spreadsheets, PowerPoint presentations – that have been deleted and purged from the Recycle Bin.

And you do not have to be a rocket scientist to operate Rapid Recovery™. Anyone can do it by using its intuitive interface and easy-to-follow instructions. The powerful “undelete” algorithms of Rapid Recovery™ can save you from a lot of stress, anxiety and hair-pulling. You can resurrect your lost file(s) in a matter of seconds and be on your feet again in no time.


© Rapid Data Recovery 1999 – 2018
* Terms and Conditions Apply